Effective Ways to Talk to a Stranger.

Making new friends is almost everyone’s cup of tea. But, for some it can be very difficult for some reasons. In my case, I love small circles. No matter wherever I go, my squad will only consist of maximum 3 friends. Talking to a stranger always the most deadliest thing I my life till the age of 15 for me. The first thing I did is ignored the fear when I face a stranger. In more appropriate way I would say that I overcame the anxiety in me. ‘oh what if she is rude?’, ‘will he respect my opinion?’ and many mixed opinions and mixed feelings ruined my days. The main step of this process is to change your mindset. I were very arrogant, defensive and aggressive girl when I were a teen. Because, I’ve gone through a lot of irritating characters who will never appreciate anything in myself. So, I were rude within my circumstance. That made me to judge others as well. How a stranger will know my character? Not every stranger will become someone special right? No one has time for it. You might see a lot of them once in your life. So, their behavior is depends on 2 criteria; either who they are or based on what you are projecting. Don’t worry about people who are in the first criteria; they are just passing clouds. I believed in myself and tried to initiate my conversation all the time. Yes! start first! Don’t care about what others think. They might think you are flirting, you are dumb or whatever. Mark my word! your inner strength will fall the people from first criteria to the second one. For instance, I like to sit in the front seat whenever I’m boarding into a grab car. The first word that I say is a ‘Hi bro’. Definitely, many won’t talk a single word after a reply for my greeting. And here comes the next question. ‘Nice car, very tidy. How do you manage to keep your car clean in busy days?’ The driver will thank for it and continues talking whatever he or she feels about it. At this point your grammar and vocabs are not a deal at all. The key is to ask open-ended questions. Imagine the example about the grab driver. Do you think he feels comfortable to talk with me? Now let me share how a conversation with close-ended question will be: ‘ do you clean your car regularly?’ the driver will reply ‘yes’. That’s all from the driver; there will be no communication unless the driver is a talkative person who can give 10 more answers. But, it won’t happen all the time. I hope you have identified how the choice of words differentiate the types of questions. Choice of words are very important because it shows your courtesy. People love to talk with someone who have courtesy. Example, when you are going to a mall to purchase a party dress, and it’s a branded and expensive but you have seen better dress with cheaper price in somewhere else, do not argue with the promoter, ‘I saw at that outlet; was so cheap?’ The promoter only can explain about the quality she can’t give the dress in a cheaper price for you. People who have courtesy will think before they talk. The response from them will be like this: ‘Can I checkout the other outlets as well if you don’t mind and get back to you later?’ Fine that’s all she will definitely forget you after meeting few customers. Courtesy is all about common sense. You must know where and whom to bargain. Apart from all these, have you ever wonder how come some people still remember a stranger they met long time ago? RELATIVITY! Having related topics are always will drive your communication to a different level. A sentence in a reply consist of more than 2 words and more than 2 emotions. The young generation get pissed off whenever elder people talk proudly about their generation. But, instead of reacting respond to them. Ask more questions to know how were their lifestyle. The aunt or uncle who judged you for will be your bestfriend and always try to understand more about you. Finally, I made myself to be easily approachable. My all time favorite technique is maintaining eye contact. Look into people’s eyes but don’t stare. It will show that you are an active listener and enable to be in track. Postures and gestures are very important. If you are living in western countries, crossing your legs while sitting are totally fine. But, Asians are not used to it. I love crossing my legs but only in front of my peers. I won’t sit in such way in front of older people. Briefly, be aware of your non-verbal cues. Even your facial expressions and vocal tones are a part of it. Try to tell ‘excuse me’ in different tones and expressions. I hope you know how it will be projected to others. Last bonus tip is to don’t use phone when you are stepping out of your house. Trust me again! ! ! you will be engaging with society more. Please comment which step is your favorite will see you on my post. Thank you

Leave a comment