What Has Made a Really Big Change in My Life?

There is a turning point in everyone’s life. Being an independent girl from my childhood doesn’t make me to realise anything. I always think that I am far away better than any other girl. But, one thing made me to realise that just because I’m an independent girl doesn’t mean I know how to value everything.

6th August 2018 was the turning point. I started my practicum journey on 6th August 2018. I’ve placed as a trainee counselor/ practical counseling teacher in a primary school. Being a student was very fun. Despite all the issues among friends it was really amazing.

My experience as a trainee counselor was not as bad as how I expected. I have an assumption from my lecturers opinion that my job is a restless job. But, seriously, I don’t think in such way. Of course, the first week was a honeymoon phase where I’m getting to know the staffs and students.

This honeymoon phase recollected my school memories. As usual, I thought how it will be I get a time traveller machine. I had more awkward thoughts during my honeymoon phase. Before I come to this school, my goal was to complete 50hours of counseling sessions, to record videos of my counseling sessions and 96hours overall including my guidance activities and administration hours. The moment I remembered my school days, the initial goal were just gone.

As a student I have gone through many teachers with irritating character. I always think why don’t they do this and that. Don’t judge me; I’m not being selfish here. I thought the same thing when any other student are getting insulted by those people.

When I get a chance to be a teacher I wanted to be that personality I dreamt to be. So, insisting social responsibility in my students were the only goal. From my opinion, teaching is not about finishing the syllabus and completing the credit hours. Teaching is to teach upcoming generation to be a complete human.

That is why our grandparents used to say that you will be a great human if you are educated. From my experience as a trainee counselor, I taught about many topics to my clients and students. Especially, I tried a lot to break the stigma of shyness to talk about taboo topics.

I encouraged my students and clients to be spiritual. Then, I created awareness about sexual abuse and also sex education. When I was learning about reproduction system, I noticed my teachers are shy answering student’s doubts. Girls in my class often afraid to take out the pad from their backpack. Because they were conscious about the opinion of male students.

It is not taboo topic; it’s the most basic thing of a human. Now what is the relationship between society? These information sharing are not even happening in many houses. Especially, in Asia. When I hits my puberty, I remember, my mother said not to talk to men or any males in class. I have to change my pad within 3 hours for hygienic purposes. I have no idea why I must avoid my male classmates.

Later on I get to know that she wanted me to control my feelings and not to fall in love. So, can you see that feelings are very common. It is based on your hormone. All of us even guys have experienced this when you are a teen. No one say that “in this period of time your body will react in such ways so you’ll feel this”.

Children who are not aware of the changes within them and also don’t have a bond with parents will fall in trap easily. Many teenagers are effected by their relationship. Their videos are getting viral. Teenage pregnancy are getting higher day by day. I’m not a freaking feminist. Girls only are not the victim. Many males have been going through sexual abuse, peer pressure to try sexual intercourse and recording video while having sex for a proof.

Now don’t you thin it is a social issue? Don’t you think as a teacher I’m responsible to spread awareness? I also taught them maths, English, BM, science, and PJ whenever I enter a relief class. I taught them based on the textbook. Somehow I can link the content of the text book with latest social issues to make a change in future.

I saw many students were becoming outspoken. Some were really interested to read newspapers. Many became open-minded and have self-confidence. I started to value myself more for having a safe life.The changes in my students and clients make me to trust the society for the first time. I won’t trust anyone last time. That’s a huge difference. I were not getting paid during my practicum, I had pressure from my supervisors. They kept on supervising all my moves. If I can make it done in such situation, why not teachers?

Thank you

Leave a comment